Upcoming Australian Events:

Australian Trophy 2022 – Saturday 5th March – Glenelg, SA
Australian Women’s Championship 2022 – Saturday 5th March – Glenelg, SA
Australian PRO Championship 2022 – Saturday 17th September – TBC
Australian Rookie Championship 2022 – Saturday 17th September – TBC

Follow STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® on social media for the latest updates.

Upcoming World Events:

World Trophy 2022 – Saturday 28th May - Vienna, Austria
Rookie World Championship 2022 – Friday 27th May - Vienna, Austria
Individual World Championship 2022 – Saturday 28th October 2021 - TBC
Team World Championship 2022 – Friday 27th October - TBC

For the full schedule of events from around the globe visit:

The competition formats explained:

There are three different formats/event styles in the STIHL TIMBERSPORTS®
Series - the Traditional Individual Format, the Trophy format and the Team Relay.
Read on below to find out more about each.

Traditional Individual Format
In the Traditional Individual Format, PRO athletes compete in six disciplines:
three with axes and three with saws. Springboard, Underhand Chop and Standing
Block Chop are the classic axe disciplines. Single Buck (single-man crosscut
saw), Stock Saw (standard chainsaw) and Hot Saw (tuned, customised
chainsaw with up to 80 horsepower) are the sawing disciplines. Athletes
compete against each other and the clock; points are awarded based on ranked
times. There are divisions for Female athletes and Rookies (aged under 25) where the
number of disciplines and size of the logs are reduced in size. Female athletes compete
in the underhand chop, stocksaw & single buck, where as rookies compete in five disciplines with the addition of the standing block & one board springboard.
Each year, Australia’s top athletes compete in the National Championship.
The winner qualifies to compete at the World Championship against the best from
around the Globe.

Team Format
In the Team Format, the Team Relay takes place at the World Championship
each year. A team of four athletes compete in a relay race including the Stock
Saw, Underhand Chop, Single Buck and Standing Block Chop. After setting
a qualification time in the time trial, teams are paired into a knockout system
where they compete head-to-head. The winner of each race goes into the next
round, while the loser is eliminated.

Australian Trophy & World Trophy:
The sport’s most physically enduring and extreme format sees athletes go
head-to-head in a series of knockout match-ups. In each match-up, athletes will
complete four disciplines back to back: Stock Saw, Underhand Chop, Single
Buck and Standing Block Chop. The fastest athlete from each match-up will
progress to the next round, culminating in a grand final between the last two
remaining competitors, where the winner will be crowned. The Australian
Trophy is held at a different venue across the country each year, usually
between February and April. Sixteen athletes are ranked for the competition,
from whence the winner advances to the World Trophy. From there, they will
compete against the qualifiers from Europe, USA, Canada and New Zealand.
The World Trophy is held in May each year, usually in Europe.