THE 2018 STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Series Kicks-off in Sydney with the sports ultimate endurance competition

THE 2018 STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Series Kicks-off in Sydney with the sports ultimate endurance competition

The Original Extreme Sport - STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® - smashes into action on Friday 20th April at the Sydney Entertainment Quarter.

STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® is now in its 4th year of local competition and continues to enjoy great success and support, firmly becoming a staple on the Australian sporting calendar.

The 2018 Series promises to bring even greater excitement and action to the stage as the rivalry and competition between the athletes intensifies as they compete to become a Chopperoo and take on the world's best in a bid to bring home all four of the world titles on offer in the sport.

This year will also see the 2nd Women's Championship, opening up the STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® format and stage to our countries top female athletes. Australia is one of only four countries in the to offer a female competition.

The Series kicks off with the Australian Champions Trophy - the ultimate endurance event. This event sees athletes compete in four of the six STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® disciplines back-to-back in a ruthless knockout competition. The champion will be the last man standing, only he will compete for the first world title on offer.

The top competitors manage to chop through four blocks of wood in less than a minute, but only the best have what it takes to complete what is regarded as the sport's toughest competition. Australian Athletes first go head-to-head on home soil on Friday 20th April to determine the Australian Champion. The victorious man will then head to Europe to compete for the World Champions Trophy Title on 27th May in Marseille, France.

Australians have a rich history of success in the sport, but none more so than the Champions Trophy. Reigning World Champion Brad De Losa (NSW) claimed his 3rd title in Hamburg Germany last year and Brayden Meyer (VIC) is the only other athlete to have placed the famous Champions Trophy ring on his finger. De Losa and Meyer aren't the only competitors to be watched come 20th April, Mitchell Argent (QLD) took down both the top guns on his way to winning the 2017 Australian Champions Trophy, however, as the event was not part of the main series at the time Argent was unable to compete on the world stage. Now that its part of the main series along with offering a prize pool of $50,000, there is no doubt that you can expect to see the most intense competition ever seen on these shores!

Sydney's Entertainment Quarter provides the perfect location with a rock concert like atmosphere and the timing of the event means fans of both the Sydney Swans/Fremantle Dockers (AFL) and NSW Warratahs/Otago Highlanders (Super Rugby) will be treated to some high-adrenaline pre-match entertainment before their evening matches at the nearby Allianz Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG). A fully licensed bar and delicious food will be on offer from some of the nation's top food trucks, as well as, a mini kids carnival for the little ones. This community event is perfect for the whole family and better yet, entry admission is FREE!

Participating Athletes:

  • Brad De Losa - South Bowenfels, NSW 3 x World Champion
  • Laurence O'Toole - Doncaster, VIC
  • Jimmy Head - Rothwell, QLD
  • Mitchell Argent - Blackbutt, QLD
  • Kody Steers - Sheffield, TAS
  • Brayden Meyer - Broadford, VIC 1 x World Champion
  • Glen Gillam - Toongabbie, VIC
  • Dale Ryan - Kattomba, NSW
  • Brent Rees - Osbourne Park, WA
  • Matthew Gurr - Deloraine, TAS
  • Daniel Gurr - Deloraine, TAS
  • David Coffey - Mitchell Park, VIC
  • Jarrod Williams - Barnawartha, VIC
  • Blake Marsh - Bellbird, NSW
  • Blake Meyer - Romsey, VIC


Date: Friday 20th April

2018 STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Champions Trophy Run Schedule:

14:00-16:00 - Qualification

17:00-17:30 - Round 1

17:30-18:00 - Quarterfinal

18:00-18:30 - Semi-Final

18:30-18:45 - Small Final (Battle for 3rd Place)

18:45-19:00 - Grand Final

19:05-19:10 - Prize Ceremony

19:30-21:30 - Hotsaw Showdown